Volcanic Zones Management Strategy

Auckland’s landscape is characterised by the cones of volcanoes that erupted comparatively recently in geological time. There are 48 volcanoes in the Auckland volcanic field, all within about 20 km of the city centre.

LA4 prepared an overall management strategy for Auckland’s volcanic zones which also includes cones, islands, reefs, basins, lava flows, rock exposures and lava caves. The strategy’s objectives were to guide decision making on future land use and development, and management guidelines for the ongoing protection, preservation and enhancement of these resources. The project involved extensive consultations with iwi, interest and user groups.